Statement from IDP Chair Sue Dvorsky on the Swearing-In of the 85th General Assembly

Posted by

Des Moines — Sue Dvorsky, Chair of the Iowa Democratic Party, released the following statement today on the occasion of the swearing-in of the 85th General Assembly at the Iowa State Capitol.

“The Iowa Democratic Party sends our most sincere congratulations to all of the 150 Members of the General Assembly. We welcome back those who are returning following their reelection and offer warm congratulations to the new Members who will have the tremendous honor to represent their constituents as elected leaders of this great state. We wish safe travels, open minds, and productive work to all of Iowa’s legislators.

“Led by Senator Mike Gronstal, the successful effort of the Senate Majority Fund to retain control of the State Senate was a critical accomplishment for Iowa Democrats. Senate Democrats fought hard and won control of 26 seats, preserving the Majority and protecting middle class interests and the civil rights of all Iowans.

“Additionally, through the leadership of Leader Kevin McCarthy, Democrats were able to pick up seven important seats in the House, and more and more Iowans will have their voices heard. These substantial gains will increase our capacity to fight for renewable energy and energy independence, a strong education for every child and health insurance for thousands of Iowans.

“I would also like to offer a special word of congratulations to the first Democratic woman selected for the role of Senate President, Senator Pam Jochum. We wish her and all of her Senate colleagues the very best this legislative session.”

# # #


About The Party

The Iowa Democratic Party is dedicated to promoting Democratic principles across the state of Iowa and electing qualified and dedicated candidates at all levels of government.

We’re made up of a State Central Committee, 99 county chairs and thousands of involved Iowans who care deeply about their state and want to see it be a model for the other 49. Learn more…

Photos on Flickr

See more on our Flickr.



Paid for by the Iowa Democratic Party
Not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee