State Representative Tyler Olson Elected Chair of the Iowa Democratic Party

Posted by

State Central Committee Elects 2013-2014 Officers

DES MOINES – The State Central Committee of the Iowa Democratic Party (SCC) today elected officers to serve through 2014. Members of the SCC voted to elect State Representative Tyler Olson to serve as chair, Heather Matson as 1st vice chair, Chris Petersen as 2nd vice chair, Jean Pardee as 3rd Vice Chair, and Ken Sagar as treasurer, and Don Ruby as secretary.

Newly elected Chair Tyler Olson released the following statement following this morning’s election:

“Iowa Democrats have a proud tradition of fighting for an economy built from the middle out, equal rights and the idea that our strength draws from the connections we share. I’m honored and excited to help lead the next chapter in that effort alongside our great Democratic elected officials, partners and supporters across the state.

“2014 brings a real opportunity to build on Democrats’ gains in Des Moines and Washington, D.C. not just to say we won an election, but to expand educational and job opportunities for all Iowans.”

Representative Tyler Olson and his wife, Sarah, live in Cedar Rapids and have two young children. He is Vice-President at Paulson Electric, a family business started by his great-grandfather in 1928 with offices in Cedar Rapids, Dubuque and Waterloo.

Tyler is a graduate of George Washington High School in Cedar Rapids and earned a law degree from the University of Iowa

Representative Olson was recently re-elected to his fourth term in the Iowa House where he serves as ranking member of the Appropriations Committee.

Additionally, it was also announced today that Troy Price will become the Iowa Democratic Party’s new Executive Director, effective Monday, January 28. Price most recently served as Political Director for the Obama campaign in Iowa in 2012. Prior to working on the reelection effort, Price was the Executive Director of One Iowa, the state’s largest LGBT advocacy organization, and previously served in the administrations’ of former Iowa governors Tom Vilsack and Chet Culver.

# # #


About The Party

The Iowa Democratic Party is dedicated to promoting Democratic principles across the state of Iowa and electing qualified and dedicated candidates at all levels of government.

We’re made up of a State Central Committee, 99 county chairs and thousands of involved Iowans who care deeply about their state and want to see it be a model for the other 49. Learn more…

Photos on Flickr

See more on our Flickr.



Paid for by the Iowa Democratic Party
Not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee